The Albery display has been removed and put in storage. As you can see, the space looks quite different without it! In 2022 when the Barn re-opens parts of the collection will be on display with the transport collection. We take a look back on the history of the Albery collection.
The museum was given the collection of over 5,000 items in 1951, and it was first displayed in what is now the art gallery. The collection was then moved to the back of the museum and put on open show. At that point, things started to disappear from the displays, into pockets and purses...
So when the Museum was given the two shop windows from a West street premises in 1968, the Albery collection was closed off and the display established. The space behind was 17 ft high.
In 1992 a new floor was put in to the Museum, reducing the ceiling height and creating a first floor Shelley display. The room below became an additional display space.. In around 2011 we had funding from the Worshipful Company of Loriners and built a display of horse bits that showcased the worksmanship – that element will be on display in the new display in the barn.
So what's next for this space? Going forward the open space will be the new home of the museum's medieval displays, which date from c600AD – 1600AD. The space consists of some of the earliest parts of the museum building, dating back 600 years.
Published: 22 Apr 2021